Extra Happy Ghost!!!

Modern Horses In late summer 2010 Mathew Swann of extra happy ghost!!!, joined by a modest gathering of collaborators, entered Chad VanGaalen’s Yoko Eno to explore, arrange and record the nine songs that comprise the dense, thickset tones of Modern Horses. The uncontrived but anxiously tense pop songs are sparse, haunting, and mired in the humble themes of powerlessness, loss, and resigned isolation. These are dissonant songs joined together by a sound and sentiment. Sonically and thematically cohesive, Modern Horses is nine songs, functioning as a whole and flowing seamlessly – an album that challenges and rewards the listener, revealing its depth with each repeated listen.